Surroundings: always different, always beautiful

If you drive south at Paray-le-Monial / Mâcon, you will see the landscape change. You will leave the mist and gray roofs behind you, the sky clears and you see houses with soft, warm colors. You feel the transition from north to south. Pastures with Charolais cows bordered by green hedges, swaying corn fields, tempting vineyards and mysterious forest alternate. Traditional farms, pleasant villages, sturdy Romanesque churches, meanderings of the Loire and straight lines of the Canal de Roanne à Digion: they are spread over this rolling area like a patchwork quilt.

Below you will find an overview of nice activities and sights. To get into the holiday mood!


The Loire and other waters

L’Estefana is located in a wetland area. Nearbhy you will find the Loire and the Canal de Roanne à Digoin. But there are also waterfalls and reservoirs in the area. In short, something for everyone.

Canoe and kayak
The Loire is fed with rainwater, which makes it turbulent in some seasons. On the other hand, the natural course of the river provides beautiful beaches where you can enjoy a picnic on this last and longest (1012 km) unspoilt river in France. These places are easiest to find by canoe or kayak, other shipping traffic is not possible here. In the summer the river is low and you can swim along the way. There are several routes and no experience is required as you are sailing downstream. Ask us about the possibilities.

Canal de Roanne à Digion
This canal runs parallel to the Loire and was built in the period 1827-1838 to enable inland navigation from Digoin to Roanne. It is 55 kilometers long and has 10 locks to bridge the height difference of 37.27 meters. It was once intended to continue the canal and connect it to the Rhône via the Givors Canal. This never happened because other means of transport became commonplace. Now it is a quiet canal for recreational boating.

Cascade de Pisserotte – Arfeuilles
These beautiful waterfalls are located just below Arfeuilles. The legend is that here was an unfathomably deep canyon. Anyone who looked into it disappeared into the depths. The villagers tried to fill the canyon with boulders, but it vomited everything up again, creating a waterfall. You can enjoy a nice picnic and you can bathe in the quiet parts. Nice starting point for a walk. The GR3 (part of the pilgrimage route to Santiago de la Compostela) passes close by.

Reservoirs – Renaisson
Two reservoirs lie together here: Barrage de Rouchain and Barrage de la Tache (or du Chartrain), which supply the Roanne region with drinking water. The latter is the oldest (1888-1891) and has a reservoir of 3.6 million m3. At the edge of this arch dam (towards St. Rirand) stands a 66 m tall Douglas fir, one of the tallest trees in France. The barrage de Rouchain is a gravity dam from 1976 with a volume of 6.5 million m3. You can walk around and on the dams and visit the nearby Maison de l’Eau. Water sports are not allowed.

Fishing
The Féderation de Pêche de Sâone-et-Loire offers an interactive map with fishing spots on its website. You need a fishing licence to fish. You can order and download the permit online at www.cartedepeche.fr.


To walk

More than 80 routes have been described in the neighbourhood of Marcigny. You can select by location and length via this website with walking routes. You can download the map as a pdf. We highlight a few special walking areas below.

Forêt de Lespinasse – Vivans
Beautiful oak forest (455 ha) full of history. Julius Ceasar wrote about a skirmish between the legions of Arvernes and Aspinassia in the Texonnaria Valley, the predecessor of this forest. Various routes (hiking or mountain bike) are indicated. There is also a walk for the disabled / buggies. There are also pools where you can fish (with a permit!) and nice picnic areas. Also visit the Le Grand Couvert visitor center in Vivans to learn all about this forest.

Forêt domaniale des Charmays – Semur-en-Brionnais
Very old forest with a mystical charge. From the Chapelle Notre-Dame de La Touche you go up to an alleged medicinal spring. The story goes that a woman drank from the well and was unharmed after being run over by a cart. Out of gratitude, she placed a statue of the Virgin Mary at the well. Turn right and the pine forest gives way to oak thickets. Here you will see ancient rock formations, mysterious huts and meet escaped sheep from the farm on the edge of the forest. The nearby hamlet of Montmegin is said to have been home to druids, be warned!

La Roche Solutré – Solutré-Pouilly
The well-known Roche Solutré does not stand alone: ​​it are 4 rocky hills with breathtaking views, in clear weather you can even see the Mont Blanc. If you go for convenience, then you climb the Roche de Solutré, if you prefer spectacle, choose the Roche de Vergisson. During the climb you pass steep cliffs where mountain climbers are often busy. On top you can have a great picnic. According to legend, the Roche Solutré was used in prehistoric times to hunt wild horses. Many bones have been found at the base, which can now be admired in the museum at the bottom of the rock.

Grottes de Blanot – Blanot
Personal small group tour in French or English. 800 steps lead you to a depth of 80 meters (and up again later). Via exciting, narrow and slippery winding corridors you pass through 21 halls with stalagmites and stalactites, each with their own appropriate name. Some are as old as 400 million years. Adventurous for children. Bring something warm, the temperature in the caves is 12 degrees! It is also nice to walk in the forest around the caves.


Cycling, rollerblading, donkey riding

If you want to explore the area, we can provide equipment for you: mountain bikes (electric or not), skates or even a donkey! There are 25 mountain bike routes in the area, varying in difficulty and length (6 to 45 km). Ask us for a tailor-made route. The Voie Verte, a flat route built on a former towpath and railway, running through Marcigny, runs from Paray-le-Monial to Montrond-les-Bains (140 km). The route is linked to other routes that allow you to cross all of Burgundy.


Churches

Long before the Dukes made history in the 14th and 15th centuries, there were two monastic orders that dominated Christianity in Western Europe: the Cluniac and Cistercian Order. The monks turned out to be valuable builders, which means that from the year 1000 we can speak of a Burgundian Romanesque architectural style. As a result, Southern Burgundy is teeming with Romanesque architecture. Cluny, Paray-le-Monial, Charlieu: all of them are highlights of Romanesque architecture.

Cluny
Home to the Order of Cluny, founded in 910. Until the construction of St. Peter’s in Rome (1506), the abbey church was the largest religious building in Europe. Thanks to strict monastic discipline and charity, the order was widely imitated in Western Europe and became a place of pilgrimage for pilgrims to Santiago de Compostela. Even if you are not much into religion, Cluny is worth it. Go to the Haras National horse stud farm and visit the stables, visit a horse show or climb into the saddle yourself and follow the equestrian routes in the area.

Paray-le-Monial
This pilgrimage site is dedicated to the worship of the Sacred Heart. In the 17th century, the nun Marguerite-Marie is said to have had a vision of Christ pointing to his heart, in reference to his suffering and redemption. Now she has been canonized and lies in the Chapelle de la Visitation, where she also got her vision. Numerous religious communities are located here, allowing you to experience a serene tranquility in the city center. The Basilique du Sacré-Coeur is the most imposing church and outdoor masses are given in the adjacent Parc des Chapelains.

Abbaye de Charlieu
The foundations of this Cluniac-style abbey date back to 872. The abbey has a beautiful cloister and you can admire sacred art. The cloister was bought by Americans in the 20th century and was to be dismantled. The French state put a stop to this and so the Couvent des Cordeliers can still be visited. Be sure to climb up to the église abbatiale Saint-Fortuné for the view. There is also an exhibition of contemporary art. Finally, wander around in the cozy center with half-timbered houses and narrow streets.

Abbaye La Bénisson-Dieu
This abbey with a very beautiful roof was founded in 1138 by followers of Saint Bernard. It is estimated that the abbey had at its peak about 5000 monks who stayed either in the abbey itself or in one of its numerous outbuildings in the region. After the French Revolution all monks had disappeared. The buildings were sold and served as quarries. A few years later the church was bought by the villagers to become a parish church. From that basis, more and more has been restored to the allure of today.


Castles

In the Charolais-Brionnais region there are more than 200 castles, burrows and fortresses. All with their own history and story. We give a small overview of the most beautiful in our area.

Chateau Saint-Hugues – Semur and Brionnais
One of the oldest castles in Burgundy, the first foundations are from the end of the 10th century. Residence of the famous Semur family and also the birthplace of Saint Hugues, abbot of Cluny. Rare example of a keep from the Roman period. In addition to archaeological finds, there is a collection of posters about the French Revolution. Costumes are available for children. Also visit the freely accessible Grenier au sel. The hated salt tax was stored in this “tax office”, one of the reasons for the French Revolution.

Chateau de la Clayette – La Clayette
This castle is privately owned, but since the summer of 2020 certain parts of this castle can be visited three times a week, such as the Paray Tower, which has stood out since the 15th century, the stables, the medieval kitchen, the chapel and other outbuildings of the castle. It was originally a moated castle from the 13th century, surrounded by moats and a large pond in which the Gothic turrets reflect beautifully. The pond is full of large carp that the French like to fish for. The village is also nice to view and around the castle are several cozy terraces.

Chateau de la Roche – Saint-Priest-la-Roche
This fairytale castle, with foundations dating back to 1256, stands on a rock surrounded by the water of the Villerest reservoir, which is fed by the Loire. In the summer there are theatrical guided tours where the life of the Roustan family (castle owners 1900-1930) is re-enacted. An interactive visit, full of surprises and encounters for the whole family. There are also two escape rooms in the castle. Book your visit to the castle in advance.

And further… freely accessible ruins:
Château des Cornes d’Urfé – Champoly
Château de Montgilbert – Ferrières-sur-Sichon
Tour Saint Maurice – Saint-Jean-Saint-Maurice-sur-Loire


Tasting

Burgundian enjoyment, good food and drink, you can do that all too well in Burgundy. You can get the tastiest ingredients on the market, or directly from local producers. Below are some tips, but always ask us personally for the latest insights from the best addresses.

Market Marcigny
This is the weekly market in the region, attracting everyone from the region. The market starts on Monday morning and lasts until about noon. If you have had breakfast first, it is difficult to park. This market offers everything: vegetables, fruit, meat, cheese, spices, textiles and of course the animal market. Children can pet the animals. There are large stalls, but also farmers with a few eggs and vegetables from their own garden. Real local products. Tip to buy your vegetables here: much better than from the supermarket.

The wine
The Romans brought the vine to Burgundy, but monks really started growing the vines: not just for the mass, but even more for their guests. They selected the grape varieties and improved the wine techniques. Wine gradually became a political tool. Philip the Bold (1342-1404) always took wine with him in negotiations and encouraged the cultivation of quality grapes, in fact the predecessor of the appellation d’origine contrôlée. The closest AOP of L’Estefana is the Côte Roannaise and encompasses 215 hectares of vineyards with about thirty wineries that can also be visited. More info via: https://coteroannaise.fr/

The cheese
With 27 different Burgundian cheeses you can put a varied cheese platter on the table. Take an Epoissess, for example: characterful, creamy cheese based on whole cow’s milk with an orange rind. There are also monastic cheeses such as Cîteaux, La Pierre-qui-vire and Nuits-st-Georges. These spicy soft cheeses go well with a glass of wine. Finally, there are goat cheeses, such as Crottin de Chavignol de Loire. These small, spicy, round cheeses are made from raw milk. If you prefer a milder goat cheese, try the Pâtes molles du Charolais.

The Charolais cows
When you think of the Burgundian countryside, you think of the white Charolais cows. The name comes from the town of Charolles, but the main livestock market for this cattle is in St-Christophe-en-Brionnais. Every Wednesday morning farmers come from far and wide to buy or sell livestock. In the adjacent cafes favorable cattle traders give one round after another. In the kitchen, the pot au feu steams to end the market day with a hearty meal. You can visit the cattle market with a guided tour and taste the charolais specialties at lunchtime from local restaurateurs: www.tourismecharolaisbrionnais.fr

error: contact

Alentours: toujours différent, toujours beau

Si vous roulez vers le sud à Paray-le-Monial / Mâcon, vous verrez le paysage changer. Vous laisserez la brume et les toits gris derrière vous, le ciel s’éclaircit et vous apercevrez des maisons aux couleurs douces et chaudes. Vous ressentez la transition du nord au sud. Les pâturages aux vaches charolaises bordées de haies vertes, les champs de maïs, les vignobles et la forêt mystérieuse alternent. Fermes traditionnelles, villages agréables, églises romanes, méandres de la Loire et lignes droites du canal de Roanne à Digion: ils s’étalent sur cette zone en pente comme une courtepointe en patchwork.

Vous trouverez ci-dessous un aperçu des activités amusantes et des sites touristiques. Pour entrer dans l’ambiance des vacances!


La Loire et autres eaux

L’Estefana est située dans une zone humide. A deux pas, vous trouverez la Loire et le canal de Roanne à Digoin. Mais il y a aussi des cascades et des barrages dans la région. Il y a quelque chose pour chacun.

Canoë et kayak
La Loire est alimentée en eau de pluie, ce qui la rend turbulente certaines saisons. D’autre part, le cours naturel de la rivière offre de belles plages où vous pourrez profiter d’un pique-nique sur cette dernière et plus longue (1012 km) rivière préservée de France. Ces endroits sont les plus faciles à trouver en canoë ou en kayak, aucun autre trafic fluvial n’est pas possible ici. En été, la rivière est basse et vous pouvez nager en cours de route. Il existe plusieurs itinéraires et aucune expérience n’est requise car vous naviguez en aval. Demandez-nous les possibilités.

Canal de Roanne à Digion
Ce canal est parallèle à la Loire et a été construit dans la période 1827-1838 pour permettre la navigation fluviale de Digoin à Roanne. Il mesure 55 kilomètres de long et possède 10 écluses pour combler le dénivelé de 37,27 mètres. L’intention était de poursuivre le canal et de le relier au Rhône via le canal de Givors. Cela ne s’est jamais produit car d’autres moyens de transport sont devenus monnaie courante. Maintenant, c’est un canal tranquille pour la navigation de plaisance.

Cascade de Pisserotte – Arfeuilles
Ces belles cascades sont situées juste en dessous d’Arfeuilles. La légende raconte qu’il y avait là un vortex d’une profondeur insondable. Tous ceux qui le regardait disparaissait dans les profondeurs. Les villageois ont essayé de remplir la avec des rochers, mais l’abîme a tout vomi à nouveau, créant une cascade. Vous pourrez profiter d’un bon pique-nique et vous baigner dans les parties calmes. Bon point de départ pour une promenade. Le GR3 (qui fait partie du chemin de pèlerinage de Saint-Jacques-de-la-Compostelle) passe à proximité.

Barrages – Renaisson
Deux réservoirs y sont réunis: le Barrage de Rouchain et le Barrage de la Tache (ou du Chartrain), qui alimentent la région de Roanne en eau potable. Ce dernier est le plus ancien (1888-1891) et possède un réservoir de 3,6 millions de m3. Au bord de cette barrage voûte (vers Saint-Rirand) se dresse un Douglas de 66 m de haut, l’un des plus hauts arbres de France. Le barrage de Rouchain est un barrage gravitaire de 1976 d’un volume de 6,5 millions de m3. Vous pouvez vous promener sur les barrages et visiter la Maison de l’Eau à proximité. Les sports nautiques ne sont pas autorisés.

Pêche
La Fédération de Pêche de Sâone-et-Loire propose sur son site Internet une carte interactive des lieux de pêche. Vous avez besoin d’un permis de pêche pour pêcher. Vous pouvez commander et télécharger le permis en ligne sur www.cartedepeche.fr.


Se promener

Plus de 80 itinéraires ont été décrits dans les environs de Marcigny. Vous pouvez sélectionner par emplacement et par longueur via ce site web avec des itinéraires de randonnée. Vous pouvez télécharger un carte au format pdf. Nous mettons en évidence quelques zones de marche spéciales ci-dessous.

Forêt de Lespinasse – Vivans
Belle forêt de chêne (455 ha) chargée d’histoire. Julius Ceasar a écrit sur une escarmouche entre les légions d’Arvernes et d’Aspinassia dans la vallée de Texonnaria, le prédécesseur de cette forêt. Différents itinéraires (randonnées pédestres ou VTT) sont indiqués. Il y a aussi une promenade pour les handicapés /poussettes. Il y a aussi des marais où vous pouvez pêcher (avec un permis!) et de belles aires de pique-nique. Visitez également le centre d’accueil Le Grand Couvert à Vivans pour tout savoir sur cette forêt.

Forêt domaniale des Charmays – Semur-en-Brionnais
Très vieille forêt avec une charge mystique. Vous montez de la Chapelle Notre-Dame de La Touche jusqu’à une source prétendue médicinale. L’histoire raconte qu’une femme a bu au puits et n’a pas été blessée après avoir été écrasée par une charrette. En guise de remerciement, elle a placé une statue de la Vierge au puits. Tournez à droite et la forêt de épinettes cède la place aux fourrés de chênes. Ici, vous verrez d’anciennes formations rocheuses, des huttes mystérieuses et rencontrerez des moutons échappés de la ferme à la lisière de la forêt. On dit que le hameau voisin de Montmegin abritait des druides, attention!

La Roche Solutré – Solutré-Pouilly
La célèbre Roche Solutré n’est pas isolée: ce sont 4 collines rocheuses avec des vues impeccables, par temps clair, vous pouvez même voir le Mont Blanc. Si vous y allez par commodité, vous montez la Roche de Solutré, si vous préférez le spectacle, choisissez la Roche de Vergisson. Pendant la montée, vous passez des falaises abruptes où les alpinistes sont souvent occupés. En plus, vous pouvez faire un bon pique-nique. Selon la légende, la Roche Solutré était utilisée à l’époque préhistorique pour chasser les chevaux sauvages. De nombreux ossements ont été retrouvés à la base, que l’on peut désormais admirer dans le musée au pied du rocher.

Grottes de Blanot – Blanot
Visite personnelle en petit groupe en français ou en anglais. 800 marches vous mènent à une profondeur de 80 mètres (et plus tard de retour). Par des couloirs sinueux passionnants, étroits et glissants, vous traversez 21 salles avec des stalachmites et des stalactites, chacune avec son propre nom. Certains ont jusqu’à 400 millions d’années. Aventureux pour les enfants. Apportez quelque chose de chaud, la température dans les grottes est de 12 degrés! Il est également agréable de se promener dans la forêt autour des grottes.


Vélo, patin à roulettes, équitation à dos d’âne

Si vous souhaitez découvrir la région, nous pouvons vous fournir du matériel: des VTT (électriques ou non), des patins ou encore un âne! Il existe 25 itinéraires VTT dans la région, de difficulté et de longueur variables (6 à 45 km). Demandez-nous un itinéraire sur mesure. La Voie Verte, voie plate construite sur un ancien chemin de halage et voie ferrée, qui traverse Marcigny, relie Paray-le-Monial à Montrond-les-Bains (140 km). L’itinéraire est lié à d’autres itinéraires qui vous permettent de traverser toute la Bourgogne.


Des églises

Bien avant que les ducs ne fassent l’histoire aux XIVe et XVe siècles, il y avait deux ordres monastiques qui dominaient le christianisme en Europe occidentale: l’ordre clunisien et l’ordre cistercien. Les moines se sont révélés être de précieux bâtisseurs, ce qui signifie qu’à partir de l’an 1000, on peut parler d’un style architectural roman bourguignon. De ce fait, le sud de la Bourgogne regorge d’architecture romane. Cluny, Paray-le-Monial, Charlieu: autant de points forts de l’architecture romane.

Cluny
Siège de l’Ordre de Cluny, fondé en 910. Jusqu’à la construction de Saint-Pierre à Rome (1506), l’église abbatiale était le plus grand édifice religieux d’Europe. Grâce à une discipline monastique stricte et à la charité, l’ordre fut largement imité en Europe occidentale et devint un lieu de pèlerinage pour les pèlerins de Saint-Jacques-de-Compostelle. Même si vous n’êtes pas religieux, Cluny en vaut la peine. Allez au Haras National et visitez les écuries, un spectacle équestre ou montez vous-même en selle et suivez les itinéraires équestres de la région.

Paray-le-Monial
Ce lieu de pèlerinage est dédié au culte du Sacré-Cœur. Au XVIIe siècle, la religieuse Marguerite-Marie aurait eu une vision du Christ pointant vers son cœur, en référence à sa souffrance et à sa rédemption. Maintenant, elle a été canonisée et repose dans la Chapelle de la Visitation, où elle a également eu sa vision. De nombreuses communautés religieuses ont été établies ici, vous permettant de vivre une tranquillité sereine en centre-ville. La Basilique du Sacré-Coeur est l’église la plus imposante et des messes extérieurs sont donnés dans le parc des Chapelains adjacent.

Abbaye de Charlieu
Les fondations de cette abbaye de style clunisien remontent à 872. L’abbaye possède un beau cloître et permet d’admirer l’art sacré. Le cloître a été acheté par les Américains au XXe siècle et devait être démantelé. L’État français l’a arrêté et ainsi le Couvent des Cordeliers peut encore être visité. Assurez-vous de monter la crête de l’église abbatiale Saint-Fortuné pour la vue. Il y a aussi une exposition d’art contemporain. Enfin, promenez-vous dans le centre chaleureux avec ses maisons à colombages et ses rues étroites.

Abbaye La Bénisson-Dieu
Cette abbaye avec très beau toit a été fondée en 1138 par des adeptes de Saint Bernard. On estime que l’abbaye comptait à son apogée environ 5000 moines qui séjournaient dans l’abbaye elle-même, ou dans l’une de ses nombreuses dépendances de la région. Après la Révolution française, tous les moines avaient disparu. Les bâtiments ont été vendus et ont servi de carrières. Quelques années plus tard, l’église a été achetée par les villageois pour devenir une église paroissiale. De cette base, de plus en plus a été restauré à l’attrait d’aujourd’hui.


Châteaux

Dans le Charolais-Brionnais, il y a plus de 200 châteaux, forteresses ou ruines. Tous avec leur propre histoire. Nous donnons un petit aperçu des plus belles de notre région.

Château Saint-Hugues – Semur et Brionnais
L’un des plus anciens châteaux de Bourgogne, les premières fondations datent de la fin du Xe siècle. Résidence de la célèbre famille Semur et également abbé de Saint Hugues, abbé de Cluny. Rare exemple de donjon de l’époque romaine. En plus des découvertes archéologiques, il existe une collection d’affiches sur la Révolution française. Des vêtements d’habillage sont disponibles pour les enfants. Visitez également le Grenier au sel librement accessible. La taxe sur le sel détestée était stockée dans ce ‘bureau des impôts’, l’une des raisons de la Révolution française.

Château de la Clayette – La Clayette
Ce château est une propriété privée, mais depuis l’été 2020 certaines parties de ce château peuvent être visitées trois fois par semaine, comme la tour Paray, qui se démarque depuis le XVe siècle, les écuries, la cuisine médiévale, la chapelle et autres dépendances du château. C’était à l’origine un château du XIIIe siècle, entouré de douves et d’un grand étang dans lequel les tourelles gothiques se reflètent magnifiquement. L’étang regorge de grosses carpes que les Français aiment pêcher. Le village est également agréable à voir et autour du château se trouvent plusieurs terrasses confortables.

Château de la Roche – Saint-Priest-la-Roche
Ce château féerique, aux fondations datant de 1256, se dresse sur un rocher entouré par l’eau du réservoir de Villerest, alimenté par la Loire. En été il y a des visites guidées théâtrales où la vie de la famille Roustan (propriétaires du château 1900-1930) est reconstituée. Une visite interactive, pleine de surprises et de rencontres pour toute la famille. Il y a aussi deux salles d’évasion dans le château. Réservez votre visite du château à l’avance.

Et plus … des ruines librement accessibles:
Château des Cornes d’Urfé – Champoly
Château de Montgilbert – Ferrières-sur-Sichon
Tour Saint Maurice – Saint-Jean-Saint-Maurice-sur-Loire


Goûter

Profitez de délicieux plats et boissons, on ne peut que trop bien faire ça en Bourgogne. Vous pouvez vous procurer les ingrédients les plus savoureux du marché ou directement auprès des producteurs locaux. Voici quelques conseils, mais demandez-nous toujours personnellement les dernières informations des meilleures adresses.

Marché Marcigny
Il s’agit du marché hebdomadaire de la région, attirant tout le monde de la région. Le marché commence le lundi matin et dure jusqu’à midi environ. Si vous avez pris le petit-déjeuner en premier, il est difficile de se garer. Ce marché offre de tout: légumes, fruits, viande, fromage, épices, textiles et bien sûr le marché aux animaux. Les enfants peuvent caresser les animaux. Il y a de grands étals, mais aussi des agriculteurs avec quelques œufs et légumes de leur propre potager. De vrais produits locaux. Astuce pour faire le plein de légumes ici: bien mieux qu’au supermarché.

Le vin
Les Romains ont amené la vigne en Bourgogne, mais les moines ont vraiment commencé à cultiver le vin: pas seulement pour la messe, mais encore plus pour leurs invités. Ils ont sélectionné les cépages et amélioré les techniques du production. Le vin est progressivement devenu un outil politique. Philippe II le Hardi (1342-1404) a toujours pris le vin avec lui dans les négociations et a encouragé la culture de raisins de qualité, en fait le prédécesseur de l’appellation d’origine contrôlée. L’AOP la plus proche de L’Estefana est la Côte Roannaise et comprend 215 hectares de vignobles avec une trentaine de caves qui peuvent être visitées. Plus d’infos sur: https://coteroannaise.fr/.

Le fromage
Avec 27 fromages bourguignons différents, vous pouvez mettre un plateau de fromages varié sur la table. Prenons un Epoissess, par exemple: un fromage crémeux de caractère à base de lait de vache entier avec une écorce d’orange. Il existe également des fromages monastiques tels que Cîteaux, La Pierre-qui-vire et Nuits-st-Georges. Ces fromages à pâte molle épicés se marient bien avec un verre de vin. Enfin, il y a les fromages de chèvre, comme le Crottin de Chavignol de Loire. Ces petits fromages ronds épicés sont fabriqués à partir de lait cru. Si vous préférez un fromage de chèvre plus doux, essayez les Pâtes molles du Charolais.

Les vaches charolaises
Quand on pense à la campagne bourguignonne, on pense aux vaches charolaises. Le nom vient de la commune de Charolles, mais le principal marché aux bestiaux de cette race est à St-Christophe-en-Brionnais. Tous les mercredis matin, les agriculteurs viennent de partout pour acheter ou vendre du bétail. Dans les cafés adjacents les marchands de bétail propices donnent un tour après l’autre. Dans la cuisine, le pot au feu cuit pour terminer la journée de marché par un repas copieux. Vous pouvez visiter le marché aux bestiaux avec une visite guidée et déguster les spécialités charolaises  au midi chez les restaurateurs locaux: www.tourismecharolaisbrionnais.fr.

error: